The University of Queensland 3MT Competition

The University of Queensland is 3MT's founding institution and home to the longest running 3MT in the world.

The first competition was held at The University of Queensland in 2008 and the 2020 competition will be the thirteenth..

The University of Queensland competition begins with school and institute heats, with the winner progressing to one of the seven faculty/institute finals.  The winner of each faculty/institute final then progresses to the final.  The people's choice winner from each faculty/institute final has the opportunity to participate in the Wildcard competition of which the winner is offered a place in the final as the Wildcard entrant.

The 2020 UQ 3MT Competition is proudly supported by