The 2019 Asia-Pacific 3MT Competition will be held on Friday 4 October and will bring together university 3MT finalists from across Australia, New Zealand, Oceania, North-East Asia and South-East Asia.

Date: Friday 4 October 2019
Location: The University of Queensland, St Lucia, Brisbane, QLD, Australia, 4072


Participating universities please register here

Audience members please register here

The Asia-Pacific 3MT Competition is proudly sponsored by

    Springer Nature Logo


    2019 participating universities

    Coming soon!

    2019 judging panel

    Coming soon!

    Competitor prizes

    The following prizes will be awarded at the 2019 Asia-Pacific 3MT competition

    • Winner: $5000 research travel grant
    • Runner Up: $2000 research travel grant
    • People’s Choice: $1000 research travel grant

    Accommodation options

    Delegates and guests must contact the accommodation provider directly to proceed with a booking.

    Jephson Hotel
    Location      63 Jephson Street (Cnr Sherwood Road), 
    Toowong, QLD, 4066
    (approx. 4.5km from UQ venue)

    phone: +61 7 3736 4400


    Deluxe Room - single occupancy - $189*

    Twin Deluxe - $204*

    1 Bedroom Apartment - $229*

    *These rates include a continental or cooked hot breakfast (Bacon, Eggs and Toast) for 1 person in the rate. To add additional person, cost will be $15.

    Quote booking reference: 3MT                                                                                                                                 
    Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
    Location     255 Ann Street, 
    Brisbane City, QLD, 4000
    (approx. 8.4km from UQ venue)

    phone: +61 7 3001 9888


    15% discount off Best Available Flexible Rate

    Promo Code: APAC3MT

    Link: Book Now

    Hotel Grand Chancellor
    Location     23 Leichhardt Street, 
    Spring Hill, QLD, 4000
    (approx. 8.8km from UQ venue)

    phone: +61 7 38314055


    Deluxe Rooms: $140.00 room only - including FOC parking (Fri-Sun)

    Superior Rooms: $155.00 room only - including FOC parking (Fri-Sun)

    Rates quoted are per room per night, based on a maximum of 2 guests per room. 

    Delegates can access this rate via the following booking link: 

    For those wishing to contact the hotel and book directly, please quote the group name “3MT Asia-Pacific Competition”

    Discount rates available on the night of the competition and the night after

    Sofitel Brisbane Central
    Location     249 Turbot Street, 
    Brisbane City, QLD, 4000
    (approx. 9.2km from UQ venue)

    phone: +61 7 3835 4444


    Superior King Room: $195/night (includes wifi)

    Breakfast Rate: $30/per person/day for full buffet breakfast at Thyme2 Restaurant, charged on consumption

    Book via phone or email quoting the following details:
    Group Name: UQ Asia-Pacific 3MT Competition
    Group Code: UQA011019
    Group Number: 954505
    Cancellation: 3 days’ notice is required

    Mantra Group Hotels (Brisbane) – including Mantra Hotels, Art Series, Breakfree, Peppers

    Location     Various locations across Brisbane

    phone: General reservations 1300 987 603 (Australia), 0800 448 891 (New Zealand), +61 7 5665 4450 (International)



    Discounted rates (10% off) offered across Mantra Group Hotels in Brisbane. 

    Please use the promo code UQCONF and access via the following link

    Riverside Hotel South Bank

    Location     20 Montague Rd, 
    South Brisbane, QLD, 4101
    (approx. 7.9 km from UQ venue)

    phone: +61 7 3846 0577


    $10 off the online booking rates for One Bedroom Apartments and Standard Hotel Rooms.

    One Bedroom Apartments are fully self-contained and have a kitchenette and laundry facilities. The bedding configuration is one queen bed and one double pull out sofa bed.

    Standard Hotel Rooms have one queen bed and one single bed.

    * Rates are nett rates, Non-Commissionable.

    Additional Information: Disabled rooms – Riverside Hotel has 2 Standard Hotel Rooms with Disability access

    Link: Book Here

    promo code: 3MT

    Rydges South Bank

    Cnr Grey & Glenelg Streets,
    South Bank QLD, 4101
    (approx. 8.3 km from UQ venue)


    phone: +61 7 3364 0800


    10% off the Best Flexible Rate at the time of booking, subject to availability

    Book via:


    Past Asia-Pacific 3MT finalists

    Past Asia-Pacific finalists can be viewed here